Aarhus University

Aarhus University is a leading Nordic University and the largest one in Denmark; it is a modern research-intensive international university consistently rated among the world’s top schools. Since its establishment in 1928 the university developed into a leading public research university with nationwide and international clout across the entire research spectrum. AU has four faculties: Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Health, Faculty of Science and Technology, and School of Business and Social Sciences, organised in 27 academic departments and featuring over 40 research centres. The total student population at the university is 44,500. The current project will be anchored at AU at the Department of Clinical Medicine (Faculty of Health), which covers a wide range of subjects from basic biomedical research to clinical applications and is Denmark’s largest health science institute conducting research in almost all medical specialities and hosting a number of different research centres. The Department was formally established in 1972, and currently occupies ~30,000 sq.m. of space with state-of-the-art research facilities, such as experimental surgery rooms, onsite animal facilities, stereology, electron and two-photon microscopy, PET, CT, (f)MRI scanners, TMS, EEG and MEG labs, etc. It employs 140 full-time professors and associate professors, 300 clinical and external associate professors. The Department outputs ~ 2,100 publications annually and has a research turnover of over €80 million (external funding accounting for 60%). It maintains an extensive network of multiple international, European and national collaborations and has ample experience in working within frameworks of large EU (and other) grants. It is keen to promote development of advanced educational courses and standards and is actively involved in a few programmes of this type at undergraduate, graduate and PhD levels, including, e.g., coordination of Master-level neuroscience tuition within the Sino-Danish joint university initiative.